Accidentally Vegan: McCormick Bacon Bits

Accidentally Vegan: McCormick Bacon Bits

YES! We can have vegan bacon bits!

No one is ever going to confuse McCormick Bacon Bits with “health” food, but what they lack in vital nutrients they make up for in taste. And they’re vegan!  Smoky, crunchy, and salty, these fake-bacon bits taste great on baked and mashed potatoes, sprinkled over split-pea soup or corn chowder, tossed into salads, or as a tasty topping on your next slice of pizza. Some of us have even been known to eat them by the handful straight out of the container! Look for them on the condiment aisle at your local supermarket, or online at

By Aurelia d’Andrea

Did you like this review for vegan bacon bits? Visit the Vegan Food Reviews section to discover more products you can buy online or in stores. You’ll find products for vegan dessertssnacksdairy and meat alternatives, and frozen/ packaged meals. I share vegan food that tastes good. These products are all #YummyPlantsApproved!

Prefer to cook, bake, and make your own vegan snacks? Check out the Yummy Plants easy vegan recipe collection.

Are you a beginner vegan? Visit the Start Here page for tips to help support your vegan journey or pick up a copy of It’s Easy to Start Eating Vegan.

rebecca gilbert vegan figure skater founder yummy plants

Rebecca Gilbert is the founder of Yummy Plants and the author of It’s Easy to Start Eating VeganShe’s a former competitive figure skater whose switch to a vegan diet healed her chronic joint pain. Rebecca has been a featured speaker at events including the World VegFestival in San Francisco, Vegetarian Summerfest, the New York City Vegetarian Food Festival, and Paris Vegan Day. She has presented on live television and given corporate talks. Book Rebecca to speak at your organization.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Just had these sprinkled on salted caramel almond dream… ooh sweet salty delicious confusion :)


Actually, I sincerely don’t think McCormick Bac’n Bits qualify as being truly vegan. Lactic Acid is listed as one of their ingredients and Lactic acid is a Dairy Byproduct. This means that they are not purely vegetable based. Though it is true that Lactic Acid can be plant based the distinction is commonly listed as such unless it is the Dairy based substance.

Reply to  Chazz

Although it can be fermented from lactose (milk sugar), most commercially used lactic acid is derived by using bacteria such as bacillus acidilacti, Lactobacillus delbueckii or Lactobacillus bulgaricus to ferment carbohydrates from non-dairy sources such as cornstarch, potatoes and molasses. Thus, although it is commonly known as “milk acid”, products claiming to be vegan sometimes feature lactic acid as an ingredient. You can read more about that here: That having been said, I just called McCormick and spoke with a very nice representative who explained that McCormick Bac’n Pieces are kosher pareve, meaning no eggs/meat/dairy products or byproducts are… Read more »

Reply to  coopkristen

While food that is kosher pareve will not contain dairy products, mammal flesh, or bird flesh, it may contain bird eggs, fish eggs, or fish flesh, so be careful!

Reply to  coopkristen

That is great to know! Thanks. Actually, I just ordered a vegetable based Lactic Acid powder. I want to experiment with a more realistic tasting vegan Sour Cream… I noticed the more realistic tasting vegan sour creams contained the Lactic Acid instead of the usual vinegar and lemon juice.. I have been doing my homework, and learning. I take back what I said about them not being vegan.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x