Accidentally Vegan: Marzipan!

Accidentally Vegan: Marzipan!

I know… I know… this looks like a wheat pretzel, right?  But it was actually the cutest gift ever from a friend in Germany.  This Bavarian delight is actually a marzipan sweet in the shape of a preztel!  (Or in the shape of a bretzel as my friend from Munich would say).

Marzipan is made from almonds and sugar, so it’s vegan!  I recommend that you always check the ingredients on the package anyway just to make sure there’s no strange variant from the norm.  In Europe, I haven’t seen eggs listed on the ingredient list for marzipan, but occasionally in the US I do see egg whites listed in the ingredients.  (Maybe for a glaze?)

This particular pretzel molded marzipan comes from Germany, home to a community of over 600,000 vegans!  I’m not sure where you can buy this in the US, but there is plenty of decorated vegan marzipan available online at Amazon.  I even found boxes of the plain marzipan that you can mold and decorate yourself.  Fun!


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


I just wanted to point out that when living with a strict vegan diet, one should be wary of marzipan. Almond flour and powdered sugar (the primary ingredients) being dry ingredients, require a binding ingredient in order to form a paste. In most cases, the binding ingredient is raw egg white.

When I make my own marzipan, I pasteurize my eggs before adding. But, then again, I don’t follow a vegan diet.

I just wanted to inform those who may have allergies to eggs, or who are firm in their following of the vegan ways.


Reply to  labrador

Raw organic agave acts as a perfect binding agent. We use only 4 ingredients in our marzipan: raw almonds, agave, vegan sugar, and almond extract. Easy peasy and totally vegan. Enjoy!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x