Accidentally Vegan: Marzipan!

This week’s Accidentally Vegan feature is…Marzipan!

Shared by Rebecca Gilbert



I know… I know… this looks like a wheat pretzel, right?  But it was actually the cutest gift ever from a friend in Germany.  This Bavarian delight is actually a marzipan sweet in the shape of a preztel!  (Or in the shape of a bretzel as my friend from Munich would say).

Marzipan is made from almonds and sugar, so it’s vegan!  I recommend that you always check the ingredients on the package anyway just to make sure there’s no strange variant from the norm.  In Europe, I haven’t seen eggs listed on the ingredient list for marzipan, but occasionally in the US I do see egg whites listed in the ingredients.  (Maybe for a glaze?)

This particular pretzel molded marzipan comes from Germany, home to a community of over 600,000 vegans!  I’m not sure where you can buy this in the US, but there is plenty of decorated vegan marzipan available online at Amazon.  I even found boxes of the plain marzipan that you can mold and decorate yourself.    Fun!

Products featured on Accidentally Vegan meet these criteria:

1) They’re not packaged as a vegan product, but they meet vegan standards 


2) They’re labeled as vegan and taste so amazing that we want to make sure you know about them!

Did you find a great Accidentally Vegan product?  Send us a note to share your discovery and you could be featured on a future edition of  Yummy Plants Accidentally Vegan!  


2 Responses to “Accidentally Vegan: Marzipan!”

  1. labrador says:


    I just wanted to point out that when living with a strict vegan diet, one should be wary of marzipan. Almond flour and powdered sugar (the primary ingredients) being dry ingredients, require a binding ingredient in order to form a paste. In most cases, the binding ingredient is raw egg white.

    When I make my own marzipan, I pasteurize my eggs before adding. But, then again, I don’t follow a vegan diet.

    I just wanted to inform those who may have allergies to eggs, or who are firm in their following of the vegan ways.


    • Kimbot says:

      Raw organic agave acts as a perfect binding agent. We use only 4 ingredients in our marzipan: raw almonds, agave, vegan sugar, and almond extract. Easy peasy and totally vegan. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment. If you don't have an account, please register